PMBD PMBD
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
2024 May 01, 12:06:30

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
138712 Posts in 1637 Topics by 5282 Members
Latest Member: AlexanderPistoletov
* Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
+  PMBD
|-+  The Pirate Ship
| |-+  ARR!
| | |-+  How did this come to be?
0 Members and 1 Chinese Bot are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 THANKS THIS IS GREAT Print
Author Topic: How did this come to be?  (Read 5244 times)
VampLena
Landlubber

View Profile
How did this come to be?
« on: 2006 December 29, 04:29:53 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

Sorry if this is a stupid question, im new to the sims mod scene, but this is the most ridiculous thing I've ever seen.  How do these people get away with selling mods? I've never seen in any other game people getting away with blatant violations of the user agreement.

More over i find it laughable they take the "morally" outraged person attitude. and have the audacity to call people thieves. EA Games should be dismatling their whole pathetic union, not allowing it to grow.  How did it get to be this way? Again I say, this is the only game I've ever seen where the company allows people to ignore their EULA. These idiots deserve every download people make from the booty.
Plum
ARR!

Can I has cc?

View Profile WWW
How did this come to be?
« Reply #1 on: 2006 December 29, 04:33:35 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

It started with The Sims 1 with a site saying they needed to take donations to pay for bandwidth, and if you donated you'd get such-and-such for free.  Then... probably either 8DS or SimFreaks started this whole subscription thing.  And, since it was under the guise of needing the monies to pay for bandwidth, it grew.

I think it's because The Sims 2 attracts a lot of non-gamers, who don't realize that gaming communities charging for mods is not at all the norm, so they blindly accept it.

VampLena
Landlubber

View Profile
How did this come to be?